Is your domain name being registered in China?

Print This Post
John Giles

Perhaps you have also received the email, or perhaps you will. It is an email from the “department of registration service in China“, along the lines of:

“… We formally received an application on [date]. One company “[name of the company]” are applying to register “[your company or trade name]” as an internet brand and CN domain names as below:

Several domains are then listed for your company or trade name for example .asia, .cn, .com.cn, .net.cn, .org.cn etc.

The email then continues to say:

After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration is the same as your company’s name and trademark. … If your company and this”[name of company]“is the same company, there is no need reply to us. We will accept their application and will register those for them immediately. If your company has no relationships with that company nor do not authorized, please reply to us within 7 work days, if we can’t get any information from yours over 7 workdays, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by “[name of company].

It looks very believable. But, don’t be fooled – it is a hoax.

The rest of this article is only available to a registered user or a client of Michalsons. To continue reading this article, please login at the top right if you have already registered OR:
.
Register - It's quick, easy and FREE to get greater access instantly. [ Register ] If you are a client of Michalsons, you get registered user access and complimentary access to client content.
.
Register at [ Register ] and then send us an email requesting access as a client of Michalsons. We will give you access and notify you by email.

Share

Tags: , , ,

No Comments Yet

Add your comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.